Disable Google+ for Non-Persons

Posted on 21 August 2013 • BlogTechnology

It turns out that if you create a Google+ profile for a non-person, i.e. for your company email account, and Google find out about it – which they will – then they will disable the account. Not just the Google+ side, but the entire account including email. It seems that Google+ is only for people. For businesses you have to use Google+ Business. So, in order to avoid bounced emails and red faces, then you need to disable Google+ for your non-person users so they don’t accidentally setup a profile.

Here’s a handy set of instructions: In order to enable a specific service for a particular user/users you first  have to create a sub organisation. You can then disable Google+ for this sub-organisation and move over any users who aren’t people.

  1. Sign in to your Google Apps Admin console.
  2. Select Users, then locate your domain – i.e. yourdomain.com – under Organization on the right-hand side of the page.
  3. Click on the triangle next to your domain and select Add a sub-organization.
  4. Create a sub organisation and give it a name, i.e. non-persons.
  5. Now go to the Other Google Services from the main screen of your Admin console.
  6. Click on the Filter icon (the champagne glass icon) and select your new non-persons sub-organisation.
  7. Then tick the box to select Google+ and click the Off button at the top of the services list.
  8. Now return to Users then tick the non-persons to select them.
  9. Click the Move to another Organization button and confirm.

Now the users in your new non-persons organisation will be barred from using Google+.

More info from Google about Turning services ON/OFF.